How to stay organised with Blogging

I used to be the most disorganised person, however University and work schedules allowed me to experiment with different ideas and work out what worked for me in terms of becoming more organised.

Becoming more organised with University work allowed me to transfer this into my blogging schedule. See also: Balancing blogging and University and my blogging routine

Blogging involves a lot of work. People who don't blog don't always see this. Blogging is not simply writing a post anymore, it is so much more than that. Blogging now entails taking photography, running different social media accounts, engaging with other bloggers, promotion, scheduling content and more. When I started blogging I didn't realise how much work was needed to be put in, in order for a successful blog.

IMG_34812

Why Plan?

I find planning really important when it comes to blog work. Having a plan can be a good idea because you know what is coming and you can have things organised in advance. Having a plan can also help when you get the dreaded writers block and don't have any content to work with. It is also good for general peace of mind. I feel a lot more relaxed knowing that I have things planned and scheduled in advance for the days where I really want a break or cannot create content.

Having a plan can help with covering all the content you wish to be focused on with your blog. I personally write so much variety of content relating to different topics. I like to keep it mixed up, try not to have three relationship posts in a row or a few lifestyle posts too near each other and not a beauty post in ages. I'm working harder on maintaining this.

Planning can also make it easier to come up with new content ideas further ahead of time.

How to plan

When I plan, like I said earlier, I try to think about what area topics I have or have not written about recently as I like to mix up my content. Looking back is as good as looking ahead when it comes to planning blog content. I also get inspiration sometimes by reading back on older content.

Blogging isn't always about the numbers, but you need to work out what content works best for the engagement you receive and use this to your advantage. Personally a lot of posts that get the most traffic for me is my posts about blogging, university and relationships. You need to know which content has your readers the most engaged but also you still need to write about things that you enjoy to write about. Which posts are the most fun for you to write?

Asking questions is the structure that I give myself to start planning future content.

Getting things down

I am a very visual person. I know that a lot of people might not be but getting things down the moment you think of an idea is really important and so useful. Whether this is done in a technological format or written, getting stuff down when you most need to is vital incase it is forgotten ten minutes later.

Bullet Journalling

You may have seen me go on and on about bullet journalling on social media recently, because I am obsessed with it. I am a very visual person and seeing things written down is really helpful for someone like me. AmandaRachLee has some amazing videos (that you can check out here) that really gave me some inspiration and ideas for pages.

At first I didn't really know what I was doing with bullet journalling and I created pages that I directly copied from page set ups that I saw on Pinterest. I realised quickly that this didn't work for me. To become more organised with blogging you need to create pages that will work for you.

For example at the beginning of bullet journalling I created weekly spreads that had my to-do list and blogging lists mixed together. After a couple of weeks I decided to separate these things. I currently have a weekly spread for blogging and this includes a to-do list, my blogging schedule (what posts are going live on what day), what twitter chats are happening and my blog stats for the week. I keep my everyday tasks seperate.

Getting it on a calendar

Organising an editorial calendar is useful. Technological or written are examples of ways to keep a calendar. I personally prefer writing down my calendar and keep it all in my journal. Technological calendars might be easier for some in terms of editing and taking things out and adding new things in. Whatever works best. The key is find out what works best for you and your style of work in order to keep on top of it.

Note taking

Similar to the bullet journalling point, I keep all of my brain dumps and notes in written form so it is easy to look back on. Whenever I get a moment where something pops into my mind I like to note it down even if I don't use it or the thing doesn't work out.

Planning as often as possible

I work on my blog daily. That might sound over the top but I don't spend my time working on my blog from 9AM-5PM. However, some days I will work on it more than others.

Planning content is all well and good but it is important to organise your time well enough that you don't fall behind or you can plan your days or weeks to maximise productivity. This helps me tonnes.

You've got to think realistically about how much time a day you have to work on your blog and what things you need to have done each day or week.

I find to-do lists super helpful and this will include all of the tasks that I need to complete for the week, or days -if more work needs to be done.

Keep everything in designated folders

With my university work I used to have all kinds of documents spread in whatever folders with no organisation. Now that I am no longer at University I went through all of my folders to transfer it all on a hardrive so I had more space on my laptop. This gave me the opportunity to clear out all unwanted and useless documents and photos I had saved.

I now have designated folder space for my blog work. I have folders for my posts (then folders in this folder labelled for designated themes), photos (put in themed folders depending on the type of photography) inspiration (for when I lack creativity and need to see a few photos to spark anything. I have also saved some of my favourite posts to read for inspiration.)

It can get overwhelming when your work space is cluttered. Go through, declutter and organise all of your folders so it is easier to maintain and work with.

Create a plan and schedule that works for you

If you cannot regularly publish a new post 5 days a week then do not try. Pick one or two days maybe even three. Some weeks you may not be able to publish content. Quality is more important when it comes to blogging and posting valuable content once a week will be a lot more brilliant rather than posting too much 'meh' content frequently.

Make sure you factor in time for all of your tasks that need to be taken into consideration. If you only have a set few hours a week then you need to think of a realistic timetable to complete all your necessary tasks.

What things do you do to stay organised with blogging?

Lois x

You can also find me over on Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

13 thoughts on “How to stay organised with Blogging

  1. Fabulous post Lois. I definitely need to take a leaf out of your book as most of the time I just think of a topic and write the blog post on the hop. I do think that organisation is so much better than a load of notes floating around that don’t make sense. Thanks for such a informative read xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post was absolutely brilliant; I think you’re definitely right in regards to how essential planning is to running a successful blog. I’m a strong advocate of bullet journalling and scheduling my posts in advance. At one point, I will definitely try to tackle blogger chats as well!xx

    Like

  3. I am nowhere near organised; not just when it comes to blogging, but in life in general. I’m definitely going to take some of the things you’ve written here – like the weekly spread for blogging and separate daily tasks – and try to implement them in my own life. I’m slowly getting into bullet journaling as well, and I’ve already noticed that making it your own is indeed one of the most important aspects! So I’m going to try and experiment with a few things to see what works best for me. LOVED reading this post, and I think it’ll definitely help me get on the right track.

    xoxo
    Freya
    tgifreya.wordpress.com

    Like

  4. I find online calendars really hard to keep up but I use my little journal every day for planning everything! Whenever I have a spurt of creativity I write down all my ideas, that way if there’s a day where I’m struggling to think of things to write about or can’t to remember what I need to do it’s all written down for me! Even if it’s just ideas for post titles I find it really helps xo
    http://www.misszarabelle.com

    Like

  5. It’s so nice to see how other people stay organised!
    I’m a major planner! I always plan posts in advance and take photos etc ahead of time!
    I have a planner notebook where I write all my ideas down!
    You’re not alone in working on your blog everyday, I spend a crazy amount of time lol
    PaleGirlRambling xo

    Like

  6. Great post and you’re so right – you need to be super organised with blogging and those outside of blogging definitely don’t understand that! Making notes on my phone and categorising those notes works really well for me!

    Like

  7. I like this post because I feel motivated after I read it. I have a notebook where I write about my blog posts’ stats and when I learn something new about blogging, I’m writing on that notebook. I love writing and it helps me to stay organized.
    Lots of Love
    Sima x

    Like

  8. This is a great post and really motivating for me to really take a stab at planning. I have recently picked up bullet journals and I love how motivating it is. Totally on with you to make it work for you. I am the type of person who tends to do things “on the go” or when I am feeling inspired. Perhaps it’s because I’m currently running my blog as a side-hobby. I really think I should try to plan and be organized though, as I believe it’ll lead to creating better and more focused, in-depth and valuable content for readers. 🙂 Great tips! X

    Simplee Nikkie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

