Mid year goals

It isn't really the middle of the year anymore as it is the end of July but I have seen people writing these kind of posts this month and really wanted to do one of my own. I have become a lot more organised with my time by bullet journalling and with this I have decided to focus on personal goals and targets to help myself develop in the future.

IMG_3459

IMG_3462

Read more

Now that University is over I can now read for pleasure. I am not exaggerating when I say that I didn't read a single fiction book apart from Harry Potter on the odd occasion during the three years that I studied. I brought books with me to University but never really opened any. Now that I have a bit of spare time as I work part time and blog I have more time to read books. I have loads at home that I have never opened since purchasing them and am so excited to start reading again as it does wonders for my mental health.

Blog about real stuff

When I started this blog I wrote posts that I thought fitted within the blogging niche. After a while the content I was writing was a bit dry and I didn't enjoy writing the posts that I was publishing. Over the past few months I have been writing more content that I enjoy working on and my blog feels more me. I want to get into the habit of writing more personal content as I consider myself to being a lifestyle/personal blogger but I don't quite feel like that yet.

Save money

I no longer have much income and for the summer I have had to pay rent and bills with very little income. Moving back home I won't be charged as much but of course I will have to contribute. This will mean that I will have to work more and spend less. This summer I have been very careful with my spendings, only paying for necessary things and too be honest, it hasn't been that difficult and I do not feel like I am missing out on anything. I have saved a lot of money for future things and this will help me in the long run.

Exercise consistently

I wrote a 2017 fitness goals post and I haven't kept up with all of my targets. I have stuck to healthy eating and I do walk to places rather than getting the bus. However, I never really got into running and I do not do home workouts every other day. Running isn't for me but I do enjoy at home workouts. However, I do struggle with the consistency of working out. I go through phases. I'll work out a lot one week but then do nothing the next. I want to keep on top of working out and enjoy it again. I haven't done anything in a while apart from walking.

Prioritise self-care more

I spend a lot of time on my laptop or phone. I spend too much time doing this! Even if I am not doing things on my phone or laptop I am still playing music from them. They're active 24/7 -Literally, I play music even when I'm sleeping. What I'd like to do is focus on self-care that doesn't rely on electronics. I face mask often, paint my nails once or twice a week, exfoliate and all kinds of beauty things but I also have my electronics running. I'd like to shut off my laptop for at least an hour a day and have a little bit of me time without it. I can focus on reading more if I do this and it is something that I really want to start doing.

What are some of your goals and targets for the rest of the year?

Lois x

You can also find me on Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

18 thoughts on “Mid year goals

  1. I think it’s a great step to make a post about your goals as I find writing things down makes it more realistic, feeling like there’s an actual goal that you’d be working towards, rather than simply thinking, “oh, I need to work out more.” I totally feel you with the work outs.. I need to maintain a normal and healthy workout routine, and quit letting my laziness ruin my routine :/ I’m so happy you have more time to read (definitely helps my mental health as well, and woohoo for Harry Potter!) and blog! I’m enjoying your writing and will be following you on bloglovin’! 🙂 Would love it if you’d check out my blog.

    Simplee Nikkie
    ———————-
    I’d love to follow each other!
    Bloglovin’

    Like

    1. It’s definitely more realistic to set yourself goals and targets by writing them rather than simply thinking them. Good luck with you goals and targets as well. I hope your workouts are maintained and read more. It helps my mental health also x

      Like

  2. “Blog about real stuff” – yaaasss, I’m looking forward to this! I always love reading your posts and it’s going to be so fun seeing you write about subjects that come from the heart. 🙂 I need to properly get into at-home-workouts myself, and maybe into running as well, if I can find proper running gear that’s not too expensive. Another thing I’d love to ‘achieve’ is use my bullet journal consistently and really find my own style with it! I’m definitely also going to get back into blogging reaaalll soon, I’ve missed it so much.

    xoxo
    Freya
    thatgirlyt.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. Thank you so much. Same, one of my main goals is the consistent working out. I’d love to get into running. Maybe when I move home it’ll be easier as I can run with my mum in the mornings. I’m loving my bullet journal at the moment. It has been working for me so well! I might do a post on it soon! Yes, get back into it. I love your posts xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love this post! I totally know what you mean about not having time for personal reading during uni. Thankfully I study literature so can enjoy reading fiction but my “critical/ analytical brain” never switches off (maybe that’s why I watch so much bad reality tv 😂 I agree with the self care one too! I need to switch off more often. Good luck with them! x

    Like

    1. Thats lucky. I know what you mean though. I studied english literature and media at A-levels so had to study everything critically instead of just enjoying it haha! Trash TV is so good! x

      Like

  4. These are some really great goals! Hopefully you’re able to save some money now university is over and you don’t need to spend so much money on rent etc. I’m also getting back into fitness now too x

    Kayleigh Zara 🌿www.kayleighzaraa.com

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ve seen so many people making goals posts too.. I feel I should be making some! I’m definitely making an effort to read too this summer, I recently got some new books so I can’t wait to have a good reading session!
    PaleGirlRambling xo

    Like

  6. These are all great goals! Especially the working out and saving money ones. That’s something I need to focus on, and I’ve started doing it but need to really stick with everything

    Like

  7. I love the idea of making goals and sharing them on your blog too! Best of luck with them! Now that I’ve graduated from school I want to spend time reading more, exercising and concentrating on my blog. I had very little time with exams over the past year or two!

    Like

  8. I totally relate with the dry posting at the beginning, I tried so hard to fit into a niche without making anything my own. These goals are amazing, I wish you the best of luck in achieving them!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

