5 Tips for having an unforgettable holiday

If you didn’t already know, I am going to Amsterdam at the end of July. I have been going on about it on my social media since I booked the holiday.

My friend and I booked a weekend away in Amsterdam during their PRIDE over there and are going to Milkshake festival as well. Besides the one day where we are going to the festival, we have three whole days to explore the city.

I have been to Amsterdam before but didn’t truly appreciate it as much as I could have as my friend and I just walked around and stopped whenever we saw something. For this holiday, I want to plan.

I have really been trying to find and organise daily activities for me and my friend to be getting on with when out there and these are my tips on getting the most out of your holiday or break.

IMG_3317

Do your research

I have read so many articles and visited so many websites on where the best places to go in Amsterdam are. I have looked for restaurants, bars and events with all of the reviews to get a well-rounded idea on the best opportunities and places for my friend and I to visit.

Save blog posts written about your chosen destination

I have a Pinterest board and bloglovin collection filled with blog posts about my chosen destination. The great thing about travel blogs and other bloggers writing about their holiday is that they can be very personal and honest. All blog posts are different and I have learnt different things from each post that I have read. It is easy to go back to when saved to your profiles and you can start planning months in advance by reading others experiences on where to go, where not to go, what to do and when to do it.

Watch YouTube videos about your chosen location

I have not done this as much but I love watching vlogs on YouTube and have found loads on Amsterdam and people’s trip to the city. Depending on where you are going there may not be many videos if you’re going to a less popular city. I’ve seen a lot of vlogs of people filming where they have eaten which has helped me view what places are actually like and whether I want to try it out or not.

Read reviews

Similar to the research point, reading reviews on places to go and visit are important before travelling. You don’t want to find out that the thing you want to do or the last minute pit stop in a random cafe isn’t actually what you expected and you are left disappointed.

You don’t want to plan everything you do and where you go but if you are an over planner like myself reading reviews might be useful in figuring out what could be best for you.

Search hashtags

Although every blogger is hating on Instagram at the moment due to the algorithm and blah blah blah searching relevant hashtags for your chosen destination is useful. Some people tend to tag places and microblog, giving a descriptive caption of the photograph. My screenshots are filled with posts at the moment to refer back to when needed.

What things do you do in preparation for a holiday or break away?

Lois x

You can also find me over on Bloglovin | Twitter | Instagram | Pinterest

 

30 thoughts on “5 Tips for having an unforgettable holiday

  1. Pride + a milkshake festival?! That sounds like an amazing trip to me!! I definitely agree with doing your research via YouTube and blogs, it’s a great way to discover parts of cities that might not be covered in the standard travel guides! Fab advice, thanks for sharing!

    Abbey 🐬 http://www.abbeylouisarose.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What wonderful tips! I hadn’t thought of searching Instagram for relevant hashtags and seeing if anyone had written about the places they shared photos from! It’s been a bit of a while since I went to a new city, but there are a few on my travel wishlist. I’ll have to start researching blog posts now to settle on a destination!

    xx
    Emily
    emilyhallock.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yess! I feel like doing your research is so important before you go on holiday. There’s so much to do and see so knowing a little bit about where you’re off to is a great headstart and makes the trip more enjoyable! x

    sami // samiyah.co.uk

    Like

  4. I cannot tell you how much other people’s blog posts saved me from a potential travel nightmare, and now I can’t recommend them enough! I also agree with the “doing your research” part as I did have one holiday where I didn’t do a lot of research, and it turned out to be one of my least favourites.

    Hope you have an amazing time in Amsterdam, and that it would be more memorable and fun!

    Like

  5. These are some amazing tips for an unforgettable holiday, I definetely should watch more YouTube videos on my travel destinations x

    Kayleigh Zara 🌿www.kayleighzaraa.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

